Sarton Women's Book Awards
2016 Winners

The Story Circle Network is proud to announce the winners of the 2016 Sarton Women's Book Awards™ in five categories: Memoir, Biography, Contemporary Fiction, Historical Fiction, and Young Adult Fiction.

The awards are sponsored by the Story Circle Network, an international nonprofit community of women writers. The program is named in honor of May Sarton, who is remembered for her outstanding contributions to women's literature as a memoirist, novelist, and poet. The awards are given annually to women authors writing chiefly about women in memoir, biography and fiction published in the United States and Canada and selected from works submitted. The awards are limited to submissions originally written in English and published by small/independent publishers, university presses, and author-publishers (self-publishing authors). The judging is conducted in two rounds. Professional librarians not affiliated with SCN select the winner and finalists. Previous winners of the award may be viewed here.

Story Circle is now accepting submissions for the 2016 - 2017 competition.

The Space Between:
A Memoir of Mother-Daughter Love at the End of Life

Virginia A. Simpson

El Dorado Hills CA


She Writes Press


Finding Dorothy Scott: Letters of a WASP Pilot

Sarah Byrn Rickman

Colorado Springs CO


Texas Tech University Press


A Drop in the Ocean: A Novel

Jenni Ogden

Great Barrier Island, New Zealand

Contemporary Fiction

She Writes Press


An Address in Amsterdam

Mary Dingee Fillmore

Burlington VT

Historical Fiction

She Writes Press


Upside Down in a Laura Ingalls Town

Leslie Tall Manning

New Bern NC

Young Adult Fiction



For information about the 2016-2017 competition, click here