Sarton Women's Book Awards™: 2015 Winners

The Story Circle Network is proud to announce the winners of the 2015 Sarton Women's Literary Awards in three categories: Memoir, Contemporary Fiction, and Historical Fiction.

The awards are sponsored by the Story Circle Network, an international nonprofit community of women writers. The program is named in honor of May Sarton, who is remembered for her outstanding contributions to women's literature as a memoirist, novelist, and poet. The awards are given annually to women authors writing chiefly about women in memoir, biography and fiction published in the United States and Canada and selected from works submitted. The awards are limited to submissions originally written in English and published by small/independent publishers, university presses, and author-publishers (self-publishing authors). The judging is conducted in two rounds. Professional librarians not affiliated with SCN select the winner and finalists. Previous winners of the award may be viewed here.

So Many Africas: Six Years in a Zambian Village

Jill Kandel

Moorhead, MN


Autumn House Press


War Creek

Susan Marsh

Jackson, WY

Contemporary Fiction



Even in Darkness: A Novel

Barbara Stark-Nemon

Ann Arbor, MI

Historical Fiction

She Writes Press


For information about the 2015-2016 competition, click here